So this weeks assignment was to create a map for the Pure Michigan tourism campaign.  These maps are to be distributed at rest areas all across the state of Michigan (hypothetically).  I love to create maps that tell a story however, I think I tried to force this on a bit and show a little too much.  We were required to have the deliverables as a printed 8.5 x 11 map.  But trying to show what I wanted to convey seemed to be harder than I thought.  Given a larger output size, I might be able to create more space for labeling. That being said I ran out of time as I have worked too long on the labels.  Some of them I had to go in and created as annotations to be able to manipulate them to the areas I wanted because ArcGIS has issues in labeling areas that are highly dense.

My goal was to somehow reflect the days of old of when I was a kid on a road trip with my father and sister and pulling out the old RandMcnally Atlas and staring at all of the points of interest and letting my imagination take me to places that I had never been before.  It is the same feeling I get when I stare at a globe of the world or open Google maps or stare at remote images of places that I long to visit.  Places of mystery and adventure, I guess that is why I love GIS and cartography.  Something that I enjoyed staring at as a kid is something that I get to create and work with as an adult.  How cool is that?

“Maps codify the miracle of existence.”
― Nicholas Crane, Mercator: The Man Who Mapped the Planet

I’ve always been fascinated by maps and cartography. A map tells you where you’ve been, where you are, and where you’re going — in a sense it’s three tenses in one.

Peter Greenaway
To view the map in more detail, click here to jump to the pdf:  Lab5_TonyCross
tony
salvo semper
Hebrews 12:1-2

 

Leave a Reply

